Coping With Stress and Anxiety in College

College is something that every adult raves about. All you hear as a teen is that “college is the best four years of your life!” Well, sometimes I feel inclined to disagree. I know this might sound shocking to some, but there are a lot of things about college that I’m not so fond of.

College brings out the best and the worst of me. I work hard and it has paid off so far, but I have a strong tendency to gravitate towards stress and anxiety. Living a healthy lifestyle is about more than just nutrition and exercise, it also has a lot to do with mental wellness. Lately, I’ve been struggling to cope with the increasing amounts of stress that college has brought me.

I find myself crying at the end of some days because I am constantly worrying about financing my study abroad program for next semester, doing well in my classes, doing well at work, saving money, and so on. The problem is that I don’t need to be worrying as much as I do, I need to just do the best that I can, and know that my best is good enough.

Right now college is strange for me because I’m stuck between wanting to go back in time and wanting to graduate and move on with my life. I feel like I’m in this weird in between stage that I don’t know how to handle. Next year will be much better for me because I am studying abroad in Ireland in the fall, and then I am (finally) living in an apartment in the spring. Living in my own apartment and having my own personal space will finally make me feel independent, and I will have the freedom to cook my own meals and have my own bathroom. I know that these little things will make me much happier in the long run.

BUT don’t get me wrong, at the end of the day I know that I am happy to be a college student at UNH, but sometimes I allow my stress and anxiety to get the best of me. Living with anxiety is not enjoyable, and I’ve finally decided to accept it and really do something about it. I am starting to take all natural medication that is supposed to help me relax, and if that is not helping me, I am planning to visit my Doctor at home. Here are some tips that I am trying in order to cope with stress and anxiety, I hope they can be beneficial for others as well!

24f93a0482ac6d2e9fc12b7f9aa79f01

1. Be Mindful. Make a conscious effort to be mindful, and live in the present moment instead of worrying about the past or the future. This can be difficult because in this day and age people never really live in the present moment when they are always on their phones, or in my case, worrying. Just start to pay close attention to everything you do from washing your hands to eating, this will make everything you do more meaningful.

2. Do Something You Love Everyday. What makes you happy? Is it exercising, watching your favorite tv show, hanging out with friends? Whatever it is, DO IT! Personally, I love being by myself and listening to music. I love discovering new music, it helps me relieve stress and tension, and it makes me happy. I listen to music for at least an hour at night to help me unwind and fall asleep.

3. Know Your Limits. You know yourself better than anyone, so listen to your body. If you feel exhausted, stop studying and go to bed. If something that you are doing is overwhelming you and causing stress, cut back on that activity. Constantly pushing yourself to your limits can only harm your mental wellness in the long run.

4. Know When to Ask For Help. This can be hard for people to accept, and it is definitely hard for me to do. If you feel as though your stress level is increasing and that it is out of your control, talk to someone, anyone. I personally talk to my mom because she knows me the best. I also plan on talking to someone through the counseling center at my school to get an outside perspective on my own mental wellness. And let me tell you, there is nothing wrong with that! It can be really valuable to here another opinion, and get an experts advice.

College should be one of the best times in your life, but it will not always be that way. My advice to you is to do everything you can to stay balanced and happy while in college. There is no better time than now to discover yourself, and discover a balanced lifestyle.

~AML

Leave a comment